The importance of the last sentence

When I visit a bookstore and think which books I should buy, I often read the last sentence in a book.

Sometimes the last sentence encourages me to buy a book, sometimes it may discourage me from buying it.

Some of my friends say that the first sentence in a book is very important.

Hmmm …

Yes and no.

I also heard that reading the last sentence is like cheating. The last sentence doesn’t tell me everything about the book. I don’t know how to explain it, but the last sentence in a book shows me if inside a book I may find an interesting action, secrets which are still not solved, but maybe they are solved. The last sentence makes the book mysterious. I want to know WHY something happened.

What about you? Do you think the last sentence has a meaning??

What do you think about these sentences??

Here are a few last sentences from a few books I have on my bookshelves:

  • His knife was in his pocket, safe and dry inside its sheath, protected from the mystery of the elements.
  • But George didn’t say a word.
  • Then Richard nodded, without trusting himself to speak, and stood up. And they walked away together through the whole in the wall, back into the darkness, leaving nothing behind them; not even the doorway.
  • The white moon appeared in the sky, giving the hope for the next, beautiful day.
  • It was another good day.
  • The old man smiled. He believes.

🙂

Leave a Reply

