Mop the Floor

Scrabble – this is how I like spending some of my days. Since months (or even years) I’ve been playing an on-line version of Scrabble with my friends.

One day I heard:

You are mopping the floor with me.

7.gif

My first thought was connected with cleaning a floor using a mop:

Mujer-Fregando-Suelo-79337.gif

But, what playing a game has in common with mopping the floor?

Of course, I opened a dictionary and learned that my friend used an idiom:

mop the floor with someone

Smile.gif

We played a game and after each of my move, I got more and more points than she, so she only said that I defeat her completely in that game.

I tried to find an etymology of this idiom, and found only this information:

V5Ja5.png

I like learning new idioms.Smile.gif

Leave a Reply

